日本商標註冊

日本對商標保護採用了在先申請制。授予的商標權在整個日本範圍內有效,其所有者可以將商標專用於指定的商品和服務,相同或相似商標範圍的商品或服務使用將構成侵權,商標所有者可以要求侵權人停止侵權行為並賠償損失。

 

日本商標的法律主要依據《商標法》。根據《商標法》第2條,“商標”定義為帶有顏色的任何字符、圖形、符號或三維形狀、或它們的任意組合,並帶有顏色作為標記,即:

(i)與生產、證明或轉讓該商品的人的商品一起使用;

(ii)與提供或證明該服務為企業的人的服務結合使用(前項所規定者除外)。

 

商標申請應提交給日本專利局(JPO),然後JPO在官方公報上公佈其申請的內容,以驗證是否符合商標實質性和註冊條件。拒絕的最典型原因是商標缺乏鮮明性、事先註冊商標的存在、以及指定商品/服務的模糊性。

 

如果審查員沒有否決您的商標申請或您能解決審查員的拒絕理由,商標註冊將會獲得批淮。

 

日本商標註冊後,商標將在《商標公報》上發布。任何人都可以向日本特許廳長提出反對註冊商標的決定。即使在商標註冊後,任何人都可對申請的錯漏或瑕疵,對商標提出無效上訴。此外,如果商標在註冊後三年或更長時間未被使用,也可提出撤銷上訴。

 

申請期限:一年半到兩年(如果沒有異議或反對)

商標有效期:自註冊之日起十年

商標續展:續展申請期限為10年,續展應在到期日之前提交

商標註銷制度:註冊商標就其註冊的商品或服務,在日本境內未被所有人使用或者未經所有人受權使用連續達3年以上,第三方可以申請撤銷或註銷該項註冊。

 

如欲查詢日本商標註冊申請事務,請即聯絡我們的商標顧問。

Japan Trademark Registration

Japan adopts a first-to-file basis for the trademark protection. A granted trademark right is effective throughout Japan, and its owner is able to use it exclusively in respect of the designated goods and services without exclusion by any other party. The use by another party of an identical or similar trademark in respect of an identical or similar range of goods or services constitutes infringement, and the Japan trademark owner may claim the infringer to cease the infringing acts and payment of damages.

 

The legal framework for  Japan trademarks  is set by the Trademark Act.  According to Article 2 of the Trademark Act, a trademark is defined as any character(s), figure(s), sign(s) or three-dimensional shape(s), or any combination thereof, with colors (hereinafter referred to as a “mark”) which is:

 

(i) used in connection with the goods of a person who produces, certifies or assigns the goods as a business; or

(ii) used in connection with the services of a person who provides or certifies the services as a business (except those provided for in the preceding item).

 

The trademark application should be filed to the Japan  Patent Office (JPO) and then the JPO publishes the content of the filing in the Official Gazette to verify if it meets the substantive and formal conditions. The most typical reasons for refusal are  lack of distinctiveness of the trademark, existence of prior registered trademark, and vagueness of the designated goods or services.

 

In the event no refusal is issued by the Examiner of in case you have overcome the refusal, a decision to register a trademark will be made.

After the Japan trademark registration, the trademark is published on the Trademark Gazette. Any person may file an opposition to the decision to register a trademark with the Commissioner of the JPO.

Even after a trademark is registered, any person may appeal for invalidation of the trademark if it has a flaw. Moreover, if the trademark has not been used after registration for three years or more, an appeal for revocation may be charged.

Duration of Application: one and a half to two years (if no objections or oppositions arise)

Mark Validity: 10 years from the date of registration

Mark Renewal: Renewal application for 10 years to be submitted prior to the date of expiration

Mark Cancellation: If a registered trademark has not been used in Japan by the owner or with his consent, in relation to the goods or services for which it is registered, for a continuous period of 3 years, the trademark registration is subject to cancellation.

 

For enquiry of the Japan Trademark Registration, please contact us  for free trademark consultation.