European Union Trademark Registration

European Union (EU) Trademark is also known as European Community Trademark (CTM). Currently, the European Union comprises 28 member states such as Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, U.K. The EU trademark registered will be protected equally in all EU member states.


The EU trademark registration is based on the principle of prior application. The types of trademark registration include commodity trademarks, service trademarks, collective trademarks, three-dimensional trademarks, color trademarks, sound trademarks, and scent trademarks. The trademark registration adopts the International Classification of Goods and Services for Trademark Registration.


The Right of Priority on European Community Trademark Registration:
The date where the application was first filed can be claimed as the filing date in the European Union if the applicant’s home country is a Paris Convention member. The same applies if the applicant’s home country is a World Trade Organization member.


Duration of Application:

6-8 months (if no objections or oppositions arise)


Mark Validity:

10 years.


Mark Renewal:

Renewal application for 10 years to be submitted 6 months before the expiry


Advantages of European Union Trademark

  • 1) The force of a European Community Trademark registered in a member state will be extended to all EU member states
  • 2) No restriction on nationality of the applicant or on the country in which the company is set up
  • 3) Under protection by the laws of 28 member states of the European Union
  • 4) Any language in the member states can be used for application



For enquiry of the European Union Trademark Registration, please contact our trademark consultant.